Patterns and Statistics

Continuing with a page I had on a my old blog (Patterns and Analysis), here are the patterns to look out for in 2012.

1)  From @deepalir
Winner of the first race has gone on to win the WDC – Jenson Button won the 2012 season opener in Australian GP so will he win the 2012 WDC trophy?

2) From @mclaren_lew_F1
The driver who scored pole at Australian GP has gone on to win the WDC: 2007 – Kimi, 2008 – Lewis, 2009 – Jenson, 2010 – Vettel, 2011 – Vettel, 2012 – Lewis; ergo Lewis should win 2012 WDC

3) From @duskyBlogF1
Lewis won his first WDC in 2008, an Olympic year. Will he win in 2012; the year of the London Olympics?

4) From @goFeret
Drivers with cars numbered 4, 7, 9 have never won the WDC because these were positions usually held by ‘Number 2’ drivers.

Old Patterns and Outcomes

1) Since 2007, the first driver to congratulate the new WDC in parc femme that wasn’t a teammate, went on to win the title the following year.
2007: Lewis Hamilton was the first (non teammate) driver to congratulate Kimi. He went on to win the WDC in 2008
2008: Jenson Button was the first (non teammate) driver to congratulate Lewis Hamilton, he too won the next year
2009: This year, you were about to become the first (non teammate) to congratulate Jenson Button but he dodged your embrace & so ‘the title didn’t pass on’
2010: As Lewis Hamilton was the first driver to congratulate Vettel in Abu Dhabi parc femme –  does that mean he will win in 2011?
Pattern Broken: After the Singapore Grand Prix, Button and Vettel are the only two drivers with a chance to win the 2011 WDC.
From @duskyBlogF1
2) Lewis Hamilton has won the Hungarian Grand Prix in odd-numbered years since his debut: i.e. 2007 & 2009. Will it be a hat-trick in 2011 this weekend?
Pattern Broken: Lewis’s team-mate Jenson Button won the Hungarian Grand Prix, Lewis came 4th.
3) A German won the SpanishGP, a Spanish won the BritishGP and to complete the circle a British won the GermanGP
4) Mark Webber finished 5th in Australian GP, 4th in Malaysian GP, 3rd in Chinese GP, 2nd in Turkish GP. It follows that he will cross the line 1st at the SpanishGP, just like 2010?
Pattern Broken: Vettel won the Spanish GP
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Hi Dusky,

    Loved reading your articles. We would love it if you would also post your articles to, a new site for fan journalists/bloggers like you. We can automatically import your articles to your fanalistas profile and then link back to your blog giving your work exposure to our growing online community. I have no doubt that your F1 coverage would attract a lot of readers with us.

    You can create an account here:

    If you’re interested in the automatic import option or have any other questions please email me at

    I look forward hearing from you. Keep up the great work!

    Like us on facebook to enter our draw for an iPad 3
    Follow us on twitter @fanalistas


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Recent Posts

  • Autosport Awards

  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Advertisements